Why I Write

IMG_0205

I have had a steady job for the better part of twenty years since I graduated college. In pursuit of a greater challenge I packed up my life and moved back to the Kenya, where I was born.  I will honestly say that I took a few things for granted. The most important of which was securing employment prior to my arrival.  I felt confident, as I was well-educated with an extensive job history to match. Unfortunately (or fortunately depending on how you look at it) when I landed in Kenya,  we were smack dab in the middle of about 40% unemployment with a slew of universities churning out graduates by the minute, who were more in-tune with the Kenyan corporate scene than I was given my long absence.

I was raised to be an independent, positive, strong-minded individual and my time in the US most certainly served to make me more so. I was ready to start working about two weeks in to my return, but was not getting any positive feedback. Two weeks turned into two months, then four months and so on.

I felt like my brain was beginning to atrophy and I had begun to hold a weekly pity party in my mind. Things had to change so I decided to go out on my own. My background is in hospitality management and I chose to become a corporate trainer/training consultant with an emphasis on customer service. This was an easy choice for me as my passion lies in training.  Finding clients was another story all together. It took me about three months to find my first client and another month to hold my first training session. I was over the moon, and the session went very well and was positively received. I wanted the positive effects of the training sessions to carry on outside the classroom so I decided to write a blog. A blog that would serve to drive customer service excellence, empower employees, and help people develop great leadership skills.

I have been writing for about two weeks now and I love it. It is one of the most challenging things I have done to date. I have a new-found respect for the great writers out there. It keeps me up at night (in a good way) and I look forward to it day after day. It has enabled me to put my “unemployment” period into perspective and tap into my other creative juices. This would never have happened if I had gone straight into employment on my return.

I write to inspire those that I know and love, and those that I have yet to meet, to give and receive the best of what the world has to offer. At the very least I want to leave this place I call home, better than when I found it by doing my part to put humanity first.

I am Muthoni Gathinji, lover of all things chocolate and author of the blog; Excellence with you in mind (www.excellencewithyouinmind.wordpress.com) and it’s a pleasure to meet you.

Okay now go … go on and tell me how I am doing

Leave a Reply

