Until You Become It

It’s been a crazy, stop me dead in my tracks and just laugh kind of week. I took a meeting last week that turned into a consulting opportunity — yeah me !!! Then the deadline was received and I was like whattttttt. As a result I have seen the beauty of a 5am sky. Introduced a handful of java beans and then some to my liquid support system. (Kenyan coffee is just the best thing ever !!!) Stared delirium dead in the face. And became one of the many Kenyans who now gets to be tempted by vehicular absurdity of the utmost nerve racking levels.

How do I feel? Absolutely fantastic. Today’s training session reminded me that I am now squarely situated in the I LOVE MY JOB category. As an added bonus, I now have even more time to listen to inspirational content courtesy of Ted Talks and the mind-boggling Nairobi traffic.

Today’s talk dealt with how your body language shapes who you are and this popular phrase caught my attention — Fake it until you make it.

This catchphrase has served a lot of people, myself included, quite well. In retrospect though, this catchphrase may have put us on the right path, but I fear, it may have left us hanging. Here’s why.

“Making it”, is a temporary achievement. For example, I will fake it till I make it through this shift. Then what? Is this your last shift? Or …  I will fake it till I make this sale. Then what? Are you going retire? Are you going to keep faking it? Sustaining a false façade for the long-term isn’t in anyone’s best interest.

Contrary to what people might think, faking it takes a lot of energy and effort. Also at the end of the day you can find that you energy and effort has amounted to diddly squat. Zippo. A big ol duck egg!

Since we are not on that magic wonder pill Hollywood introduced us to via the movie Limitless how about we take a step away from the hamster wheel. Drop the charlatan cape and say:

From today on, I will work to “fake it until I become it!” Until whatever I am trying to achieve becomes as natural as breathing or blinking.

No one man can, for any considerable time, wear one face to himself, and another to the multitude, without finally getting bewildered as to which is the true one. ~ Nathaniel Hawthorne

 

 

 

One thought on “Until You Become It

Leave a Reply

