Giving Up vs. Giving In

The last time you were in a tough situation or facing a new unknown, what did you do?  Did you fight it with all your might? Did you resist it with every fibre of your being? Did you give up? Did you give in?

In this journey called life, we have been conditioned to fight and not give up. This conditioning is all-consuming such that we forget there is another option. The option to give in.

Is there a difference between giving up and giving in?

Giving up is allowing yourself to be a victim. About making excuses to be less than you were called to be. Than you can be. It’s saying, “I have lost. There’s no sense in trying anymore.”

Giving in on the other hand, is about going with the flow of events in your life. It is about stopping the fight against forces that you cannot control. Giving in is about redirecting your energy and thought to what really matters. Giving in is choosing to live life authentically and on your own terms.

Oh this road has been hard on my feet, on my heart
Led me to the gates of hell, I know sorrow all too well.
Lost my Love to the wind, left me half of who I am
Heavy load, heaven knows, I’m tired
I give up, I give in, I lay down
I surrender
I won’t fight, I won’t try, I lay down at your side
I surrender
After all I’ve been through, I can’t say what is true 
But I choose to believe there’s a hand guiding me
There is hope, there’s a home for my soul
I give up, I give in, I lay down
I surrender
I won’t fight, I won’t try, I lay down at your side
I surrender

~ Aron Wright~

Leave a Reply

